LOVRAN

The popular tourist town Lovran is located south in the Opatija Riviera, at the northern beginning of the Kvarner Bay, and is named after the laurel, which is widespread there.

The varied landscape that offers everything from attractive beaches to the evergreen forests in the mountains and the Mediterranean climate are just some of the reasons why Lovran has been visited by travelers from all over the world for more than 100 years.

The old town enchants the visitor with its historical charm. Sights include the Romanesque chapel from the 14th century and the 12th-century Georgian church. Furthermore, various exhibitions and events with local dishes and traditions, as well as a wide range of leisure activities in the city are offered.

Two further highlights are the ascent to Mount Vojak, which offers a view over the entire coast and partly to Italy, and a walk on the Lungomare, which connects the places of the Riviera of Opatija on the promenade of Lovran and a magnificent view of the granted endless sea and a picturesque landscape. Opatija itself is part of the Riviera as well as Volosko, grown on Opatija, Icici, Ika and Moscenicka Draga, to the south.

Activities in Lovran

ASPARAGUS FESTIVAL IN LOVRAN

Ideal for all asparagus lovers, the festival in Lovran, which takes place from 1st to 30th of April 2018, offers a variety of dishes made of a wild asparagus which you can taste in most of the restaurants during this time along with entertaining music program. Wild asparagus that grows on the slopes of Učka is well known for its unique and specific taste. If you want to see how the traditional dish with 1000 eggs and 30 kg of asparagus is cooked in a 2-meter pan, we recommend that you visit the asparagus festival in Lovran.


CHERRY DAYS IN LOVRAN

The renowned Lovran cherry is very similar to the well-known species of Lambert cherry. The locals call them Brtosinka and its quality and taste is well known and highly regarded. During the Cherry Festival in June, cherry deserts and meals featuring cherries can be tried in many cafes and restaurants in Lovran… Of course you can buy freshly picked Lovran cherries, taste cherry cakes and treats, or buy original souvenirs..


THE CHESTNUT FESTIVAL

The Marunada Festival traditionally in Lovran begins mid-October. During the Marunada, along with an offer of roasted chestnuts, a type of mead (domestic brandy made from honey) and young wine may be consumed too. In cafes and patisseries, pastries, sweets and cakes made with marrons will be available (chestnut cream, chestnut purée, chestnut ice cream, chestnut frappé, chestnut sorbet ...), while in taverns and restaurants one may taste original domestic dishes featuring marrons (special dishes with chestnuts – turkey breast stuffed with chestnuts, cutlet au gratin with chestnuts, rump-steak with chestnut sauce, flaming crepes with chestnut cream ...)


BEACHES & SUN

Opatija offers a wide range of well-equipped beaches for children and adults that have everything that you could wish for. The combination of crystal clear sea and luxury beaches is ideal for a perfect holiday. Feel the sand between your toes when you dive into the sea, refresh yourself in the relaxing waves, take your pet to a dog beach, and enjoy a great day in the sun.


HIKING AND WALKING

Lovrans natural diversity and numerous natural attractions provide a variety of hiking experiences. There is an exceptionally rich network of maintained walkways both on the mountains on the mainland, as well as on the islands across the coastal area. They provide a unique attraction with their beauty and the wealth of different experiences and sights they offer. Characterized by a variety of difficulty levels, these walkways combine the need for bodily activity with the landscape, cultural and historical entertainment. Enjoyment is guaranteed!


LUNGO MARE

IN 2011, WE CELEBRATED THE 100TH ANNIVERSARY OF OPATIJA’S BEST-KNOWN FOOTPATH – THE FAMOUS COASTAL PROMENADE THAT STRETCHES FROM VOLOSKO TO LOVRAN. Officially named the Franz Joseph I Promenade, it is still best known as the Lungomare. Dating back to the heyday of Opatija as a health and tourist resort at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries, the Lungomare was built in parts. The northern part, from Volosko to Opatija, was completed in 1889, the same year that Opatija was officially declared a climatic health resort. The southern part, connecting Opatija to Lovran, was finished in 1911.

LOVRAN

Das beliebte Touristenstädtchen Lovran liegt südlich in der Riviera von Opatija, am nördlichen Beginn der Kvarner Bucht, und ist nach dem dort weit verbreiteten Lorbeer benannt.

Die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft, die dem Besucher von attraktiven Stränden bis hin zu den immergrünen Wäldern im Gebirge alles bietet und das mediterrane Klima sind nur ein paar der Gründe weshalb Lovran schon seit über 100 Jahren von Urlaubern aus der ganzen Welt besucht wird.

Die Altstadt verzaubert den Besucher mit Ihrem historischen Charme. Sehenswürdigkeiten sind dabei unter anderem die romanische Kapelle aus dem 14. Jahrhundert und die Georgs Kirche aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. Des Weiteren werden immer wieder diverse Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen mit einheimischen Gerichten und Traditionen, sowie ein breites Freizeitangebot in der Stadt angeboten.

Zwei weitere Highlights sind der Anstieg auf den Berg Vojak, der einen Ausblick über die gesamte Küste bis teilweise nach Italien bietet und ein Spaziergang auf dem Lungomare, der an der Uferpromenade von Lovran aus die Orte der Riviera von Opatija verbindet und einen herrlichen Blick auf das endlose Meer und eine malerische Landschaft gewährt. Zu der Riviera gehören noch Opatija selbst sowie die Orte Volosko, das an Opatija angebaut ist, Icici, Ika und der südlich gelegen Ort Moscenicka Draga.

Aktivitäten in Lovran

SPARGELFEST

Ideal für alle Spargelgenießer bietet sich das Spargelfest in Lovran an, das jedes Jahr Mitte April stattfindet. Der wilde Spargel, der an den Hängen der Učka wächst, ist bekannt für seinen einzigartigen und besonderen Geschmack. In Lovran kann man in den meisten Restaurants in dieser Zeit diverse Wildspargelgerichte kosten und sich dabei von einem bunten Musikprogramm unterhalten lassen. Wenn Sie sehen möchten, wie das traditionelle Gericht mit 1000 Eiern und 30 kg Spargel in einer 2 Meter-Pfanne zubereitet wird, empfehlen wir Ihnen, das Spargelfest in Lovran unbedingt zu besuchen.


KIRSCHTAGE IN LOVRAN

Die bekannte Lovraner Kirsche entspricht der weltweit bekannten Kirschart Lambert. Die Einheimischen nannten diese Kirsche Brtošinka, die für ihre Qualität und ihren Geschmack geschätzt und bekannt waren. Während der Kirschtage im Juni werden in den Lovraner Cafés, Konditoreien und Restaurants Kirschkuchen und Kirschgerichte zubereitet.


MARONENFEST

Das traditionelle Maronenfest (Marunada) in Lovran beginnt Mitte Oktober. Auf dem Maronenfest werden außer gebratenen Maronen auch der einheimische Schnaps auf Honigbasis "Medica" und junger Wein angeboten. In den Cafés und Konditoreien werden Kuchen, Süßspeisen und Torten zubereitet und in den einheimischen Gaststätten "Konobe" und Restaurants können original einheimische Gerichte probiert werden.


STRAND & SONNE

Lovran zeichnet sich durch eine große Auswahl an gut ausgestatteten Stränden mit einem breit gefächerten Angebot für Kinder und Erwachsene aus. Die Kombination aus kristallklarem Meer und Stränden mit guter Ausstattung ist für einen perfekten Urlaub ideal. Fühlen Sie den Sand zwischen Ihren Zehen, wenn Sie zum Schwimmen ins Meer gehen. Erfrischen Sie sich in den entspannenden Meereswellen, nehmen Sie Ihren Hund mit zum Strand und genießen Sie einen idyllischen Tag in der Sonne.


WANDERN & SPAZIEREN

Lovrans natürliche Vielfalt und zahlreiche natürliche Attraktionen bieten eine Vielzahl von Wandererlebnissen. Es gibt ein außergewöhnlich reiches Netz an gepflegten Wanderwegen sowohl in den Bergen auf dem Festland, als auch auf den Inseln entlang des Küstengebiets. Mit ihrer Schönheit und Fülle von verschiedenen Erfahrungen stellen sie eine einzigartige Attraktion dar und bieten viele Sehenswürdigkeiten. Gekennzeichnet durch eine Vielzahl von Schwierigkeitsstufen, vereinen diese Wanderwege den Wunsch nach körperlicher Aktivität mit der Landschaft, kultureller und historischer Unterhaltung. Genuss ist garantiert!


LUNGO MARE

2011 wurde das hundertste Jubiläum des bekanntesten Spazierweges Opatijas gefeiert - der berühmten Küstenpromenade Lungomare, die sich von Volosko bis nach Lovran erstreckt und heute den Namen des Kaisers Franz Josef I. trägt. Sie ist zwischen dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert in der Blütezeit des Kur- und Urlaubsortes Opatija entstanden, und wurde in Etappen gebaut: die erste Teilstrecke, der sogenannte Nordstrand von Volosko bis Opatija, wurde 1889 angelegt; im gleichen Jahr, in dem Opatija offiziell zum Luftkurort erklärt wurde. Die zweite Etappe, der Südstrand von Opatija bis Lovran, wurde 1911 fertig gestellt.

Our latest special offers,
straight to your inbox

Stay up to date with the latest specials from Base Hotel. Subscribe and save on your next stay.

Continue browsing site